UK suspending flights from 6 African countries over new coronavirus variant fears: 'Our scientists are deeply concerned'

Nov 26, 2021 - Business Insider

The United Kingdom has added six African countries to its "red" travel list and temporarily suspended flights over concerns about a new coronavirus variant. 

Sajid Javid, UK secretary of state for health and social care, made the announcement on Thursday shortly after the World Health Organization gave a briefing about the variant, dubbed B.1.1.529. It was initially identified in Botswana. Cases have sprung up there and in South Africa.

South Africa, Namibia, Lesotho, Botswana, Eswatini, and Zimbabwe are on the "red list," which entails that there are more travel restrictions for people who live in the UK. People that don't live in the UK aren't allowed to travel into the UK from these cou...